top of page

My Panic Bag


(I am now aware thatt is a newborn hamper lol)

Having a bag of things to help you through a panic attack is entirely personal. Through the years the items in mine have remained pretty much the same. When I was at college full time I brought it with me every day. I found that just knowing I had it with me was a comfort. My mum made my bag for me and it is well loved. When deciding on what to put in your bag I would advise to go by the five senses.

Relaxing Oil

I have this lovely roll on oil which is perfect for travel. It is specifically for relaxation. Roll it on your pulse points and breathe in deeply. They have other blends too.

Crystals

I still don't 100% know what I think about crystals. What I'm sure of is they're pretty and are really nice to hold. They're always cold and can be a good fiddle toy when stressed. If you do feel they have other benefits then that's a bonus. My first crystal was from Scotland when visiting my Nan. It’s really unique and I love it.

Tea bags

You don't always have access to a kettle but just in case I like to have some camomile tea bags with me. They're so tasty and calming too. Sip slowly and breathe deeply.

Crisis card

I have one in this bag and one in my purse. I haven't felt the need to use it yet but it's there just in case. I was given these when I went to hospital so I'm not sure where you can get them from. But here's a picture for reference.

Stress ball

I use this as just another fiddle toy. It's a lot softer than it was when I first got it as it's well used. Still handy to have on hand.

Leo the Lion

My mum got me Leo for being brave when I was little. I can't remember what I had done but he reminds me that I can be courageous. Plus he's so cute and soft.

Pain killers

After a panic attack I'm usually dehydrated and have a headache from crying, so I pack painkillers for those times.

Colouring book & Pens

Another thing to keep my mind occupied. This is the smallest colouring book I have so this is the one I travel with.

Kalms

I have a travel sized pack of Kalms just in case I feel like I need them. They are a herbal tablet for relaxation.

iPod

I suppose this is more about the apps than the iPod itself, but I do like having all my calming/mental health apps separate from my phone.

My favourite apps for an emergency or panic attack are:

Calm:

I love calm so much because there's a lot you can do without the subscription. You can play just relaxing sounds or music with pretty visuals or actually listen to a guided meditation track. They now have sleep stories which I've just started listening to. I'm loving them so far.

7 Cups:

There's an online chat with listeners, you can go on there and rant whenever. They also offer paid online therapy sessions. I do prefer to use the website rather than the app but it is still very useful and effective.

Spotify:

Spotify has many ready-made playlists. I just chuck on a relaxing or calming one, like these here and here.

I hope this has given you some idea on what you can do if you wanted to make a bag or if you already have one. If you have any ideas on what else could go in a panic bag please let me know! Also tag me on twitter or Instagram @happybunnieblog with pictures of your bags.

Hugs, Bunnie xo

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page