top of page

365 Days of Self Care

On Sunday (8th October) it will be my 22nd Birthday. It is exciting and daunting and doesn't feel real. How as time passed so quickly? I feel like my life stopped progressing when I was 18 and I've been stuck in a loop ever since. It's not true of course, I now live with my gorgeous partner and have two wonderful pets that I adore. I'm more stable on a different medication at a much lower dose which is brilliant and I have a best friend that I speak to and see regularly who understands my situation. In lots of ways things are better and in lots of ways things are worse. That's life though I suppose, there's always going to be ups and downs.

A lot of the time though I do feel like I'm missing out, I don't drive, I don't have a job, I don't have a strong relationship with any of my (very large) family, I live on the outskirts of town...the list goes on. It can be really tough and the more time that passes the more obvious it is to me.

This time of year, I really struggle. A mixture of the shorter, gloomier days and the fact that there are so many occasions coming up. October is the birthday month in our family and then after that there's Christmas. I need to write a post (or series) on dealing with Christmas. I don’t understand why but there's something about Christmas that makes me very emotional, vulnerable and miserable.

Putting all of this into account I have decided to start "365 Days of Self Care" starting on my birthday.

Wait...365 days of what? What are you even talking about Bunnie?

Well, obviously there's always the intention in the back of my mind to look after myself better but I came across this "challenge" on twitter by The Blurt Foundation. The general idea is that every day for a year (and then continuing on forever and ever amen) is to do one thing for you. It could be as simple as sitting down for five minutes to have a cuddle with the cat or as complex as treating yourself to a trip to the spa...a football game, a concert – whatever is in YOUR interest that you would love to do and don't normally get to enjoy. There's so many reasons why you should treat yourself and look after yourself.

IF YOU'RE READING THIS I CHALLENGE YOU!

But first I want you to know – YOU ARE NOT SELFISH FOR TREATING YOURSELF. Taking time to look after yourself somehow has become something almost frowned upon, but it is necessary. Too many of us are worried about the people around us and end up putting ourselves last and that is really only doing us harm. Why shouldn’t you be allowed to do things that make you happy? After all, you've got to live with yourself for the rest of your life, take time out to enjoy your own company, to fall in love with yourself. Look in the mirror and tell yourself that you are beautiful and worthy and strong and intelligent. Because you are.

365 things sounds like a hell of a lot – and it is. I think there'll be a few repeats along the way but that's okay. I'm linking HERE the page from The Blurt Foundation explaining this in more detail. On that page they also have a free PDF to download that has a list of ideas. You can also see my pinterest board for ideas.

I really hope you also decide to take more time out for yourself, you're worth it.

All my big squeezy hugs,

Bunnie xx

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page