top of page

How to Get Your Medication to Your Door


If you're like me and take medication you'll know it can be a right pain having to go out and get it sorted every time you need a repeat.

Especially if you're like me and can only have two weeks of tablets at a time (I'm still debating whether to do a post on this or not).

Luckily most doctors are upgrading their systems so you can order your prescriptions online and they'll send them straight to the pharmacy, which felt revolutionary when it was first put in place. Yet sometimes whether through laziness, forgetfulness or genuine low moods I would often end up getting the tablets late and be missing days. Which you just shouldn't do, but I have done way too often.

While searching for mental health apps on the App Store I came across Echo. It honestly was like a dream come true.

Echo is an app/service that orders your repeat prescriptions for you and delivers them to you... for free. No post charge. Nada. Nil. Nothing. (There is a charged option if you want them quicker but let's ignore that minute detail)

Of course, I am going to be honest. When I first got the app it was an absolute nightmare. I couldn't get my prescriptions sent to the right pharmacy - their pharmacy, which is in London. This was an issue on my GP Surgery's end though! I called my GP up to change my designated pharmacy to Green Light Pharmacy (the one Echo uses) and the receptionist didn't know how to do it (fair enough) she said to call back later when a senior member of staff would be there to help. As usual I put this off. It was hard enough building up the courage to call the first time. Then, I went to the actual surgery to speak to someone face to face - I picked the only time in three months they had staff training. I couldn't believe it, you couldn't write this stuff.

Eventually I spoke to the people at Echo again and they called the surgery and sorted it for me. Just like that. It was done, and I could use the app to its fullest.

When I say I spoke to the people at Echo, what I mean is they have an online chat on their app. You can message it any time, no certain chat hours, and they'll get back to you when someone is in the office again. Every one I have spoken to so far on there is lovely.

So, once you get started how does it work?

Well, the app is free on the App Store and on Google Play.

You make an account, put in your information and order your tablets. It reminds you when you need to refill. It gives you a live update of the ordering process. I couldn't be happier with this app if they were paying me to write this.

If you have to pay for your prescriptions that is still very much the case, you put in your card details and you're good to go. If not you just fill out the exemption form (YOU ONLY HAVE TO DO IT ONCE! NOT TRY AND REMEMBER YOUR NI NUMBER ON THAT STUPID GREEN FORM EVERY TIME YOU ORDER YOUR TABLETS).

So, before I remove my head from their arses I'll pop up some screen shots of their app. If you have any questions or I've missed something please comment below so I can address them. I really hope this helps you as much as it's helped me.

*Also, they have updated their app twice since I started using it and dealt with the issues that were there straight away. Not these weird updates that don't seem to change anything. Their layout is cleaner and they have added extra features! They seem to actually give a crap about their work. It's a breath of fresh air.

**I am planning to do a post on medication for mental health so watch out for that!

Hugs, Bunnie x

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page